Gas fire - thermopile issue? Pilot lights but no flame.

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

Twowaxhack

Professional
Professional
Joined
Feb 9, 2021
Messages
5,791
Reaction score
2,613
Location
United states
GReynolds is correct but I still think unit should operate with the 10”wc. Propane’s not my thing, I deal mostly with natural gas.

That’s a mighty narrow window and it’s mighty close to being within that window.
11”-13”wc.

I’m very interested in the outcome here. I use maxitrol gas regulators and have different springs to achieve different pressures.

To the O.P. What pressure does your stove require ?

If you want to adjust the main pressure regulator you must insure you’re still in the pressure range for other appliances in the home.
 

hcanning

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2021
Messages
48
Reaction score
2
Location
Usa
GReynolds is correct but I still think unit should operate with the 10”wc. Propane’s not my thing, I deal mostly with natural gas.

That’s a mighty narrow window and it’s mighty close to being within that window.
11”-13”wc.

I’m very interested in the outcome here. I use maxitrol gas regulators and have different springs to achieve different pressures.

To the O.P. What pressure does your stove require ?

If you want to adjust the main pressure regulator you must insure you’re still in the pressure range for other appliances in the home.
Thanks. The Samsung Range requires between 10 and 13WC. Ideally 10. See attached please. I have manometer. The parts of the puzzle are coming together. Looks like the Gas range works as it's getting 10 WC and the fireplace doesn't as it needs 11WC+. Can I adjust the regulator slightly at the tank? Twist inner adjustment clockwise a turn or 2 and monitor the pressure increase at the fireplace with the manometer? Aim for 11.5 - 12WC?
Installation guide: https://org.downloadcenter.samsung.com/downloadfile/ContentsFile.aspx?CDSite=US&CttFileID=8200786&CDCttType=EM&ModelType=C&ModelName=NX60A8711QN/AA&VPath=EM/202106/20210628114345642/Install_NX60T8751_BEST_BETTER_AA_DG68-01243A-03_EN-MES-CFR_210119.pdf
 

Attachments

Last edited:

hcanning

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2021
Messages
48
Reaction score
2
Location
Usa
Looks like this is how you adjust a regulator.
...if you see smoke in the sky later it's likely coming from my backyard in Massachusetts.
Pics of my regulator and tank attached. 56 gallon. Regulator cap says ECII
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Twowaxhack

Professional
Professional
Joined
Feb 9, 2021
Messages
5,791
Reaction score
2,613
Location
United states
Good luck, be careful. 🤓

Let us know how it turns out.

If it’s the gas pressure and turning up the regulator corrects your fireplace then I’ll be surprised.

I hope I’m wrong for your sake.
 

hcanning

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2021
Messages
48
Reaction score
2
Location
Usa
Plumber that installed Gas range got back to me not recommending altering the regulator pressure so Operation WTF is on the proverbial HOLD. He reckons it's a defective gas fireplace. Doctors differ patients die. I've emailed a Fireplace shop nearby to quote me a technician call out charge in probably 6/2022 for $500. I reckon a plastic vase and plastic flowers
from Dollar Tree would fit in the fireplace just fine but tell it to the wife. Lol
 

Twowaxhack

Professional
Professional
Joined
Feb 9, 2021
Messages
5,791
Reaction score
2,613
Location
United states
Plumber that installed Gas range got back to me not recommending altering the regulator pressure so Operation WTF is on the proverbial HOLD. He reckons it's a defective gas fireplace. Doctors differ patients die. I've emailed a Fireplace shop nearby to quote me a technician call out charge in probably 6/2022 for $500. I reckon a plastic vase and plastic flowers
from Dollar Tree would fit in the fireplace just fine but tell it to the wife. Lol
I agree with your plumber.

I also agree with GReynolds that the gas pressure is a little low. That was a good catch.
 

hcanning

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2021
Messages
48
Reaction score
2
Location
Usa
Ok thanks everyone for the help and feedback. Looks like the fireplace has reached its end of life. Valiant effort to resuscitate it.
 

hcanning

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2021
Messages
48
Reaction score
2
Location
Usa
Thanks I didn't. I'm unaware of there being one. Is it common practice to adjust the propane tank regulator if the inlet pressure is low ? I'm surprised my plumber reckons it's a defective fireplace given the gas inlet pressure is less than what the manufacturer recommends.
 

Twowaxhack

Professional
Professional
Joined
Feb 9, 2021
Messages
5,791
Reaction score
2,613
Location
United states
Thanks I didn't. I'm unaware of there being one. Is it common practice to adjust the propane tank regulator if the inlet pressure is low ? I'm surprised my plumber reckons it's a defective fireplace given the gas inlet pressure is less than what the manufacturer recommends.
It’s not a digital appliance So i think the valve should operate despite being under pressured by .75” water column. But I could be wrong, I just doubt I’m wrong. 🤣
 

sawguy

Well-Known Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Messages
161
Reaction score
122
Location
wessington springs, sd
Thanks I didn't. I'm unaware of there being one. Is it common practice to adjust the propane tank regulator if the inlet pressure is low ? I'm surprised my plumber reckons it's a defective fireplace given the gas inlet pressure is less than what the manufacturer recommends.
In your first vid it shows a black box with 'reset' on it
 

Twowaxhack

Professional
Professional
Joined
Feb 9, 2021
Messages
5,791
Reaction score
2,613
Location
United states
You could always replace the regulator and adjust it to 12” WC with your new manometer. Couple of connections and a soap test. Bingo bango 🤓
 

hcanning

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2021
Messages
48
Reaction score
2
Location
Usa
In your first vid it shows a black box with 'reset' on it
Thanks. Sorry you're right. I did reset that. I believe it's used should the pilot not work when using the remote control start. Pilots starts but fireplace burner won't flame up.
 

hcanning

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2021
Messages
48
Reaction score
2
Location
Usa
You could always replace the regulator and adjust it to 12” WC with your new manometer. Couple of connections and a soap test. Bingo bango 🤓
Replacing a tank regulator would certainly be a plumber task. I've no knowledge that the existing tank regulator is bad though.
Day 1 fireplace works.
Day 2 8ft of gas line added by plumber and propane gas range is added. Range works and fireplace doesn't. Fireplace needs 11WC and Range needs 10WC. inlet pressure to fireplace 10.2WC.
Other than strange coincidence and Murphy's law causing the gas valve to puke the day the gas line is extended; the change impacting the fireplace and preventing it to flame up( as per fireplace user manual) appears to be gas inlet pressure. I've a plumber coming today to replace our gas range over a cross threaded orifice that can't be removed so will pick his brain for info. Saga continues. Not sure if Propane suppliers can adjust the regulator for me? Thanks!
 
Last edited:

Twowaxhack

Professional
Professional
Joined
Feb 9, 2021
Messages
5,791
Reaction score
2,613
Location
United states
So you had the fireplace burner burning the same day the stove was installed ? Or just the pilot ?

When is the last time you saw the fireplace operate through its functions properly ?
 

hcanning

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2021
Messages
48
Reaction score
2
Location
Usa
Hi, fireplace worked perfect a day before range install
 

Twowaxhack

Professional
Professional
Joined
Feb 9, 2021
Messages
5,791
Reaction score
2,613
Location
United states
where is the next closest gas pressure regulator that’s not built onto the gas logs ? Is it the one at the tank or do you have one that just serves the gas logs ?
 

hcanning

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2021
Messages
48
Reaction score
2
Location
Usa
It's at the exterior 58Gallon propane tank. Tank originally only serviced the fireplace. Wondering can I just pop the cap off regulator, turn it clockwise 360 and check manometer reading off fireplace gas inlet valve til it hits 11WC.
 

Attachments

Twowaxhack

Professional
Professional
Joined
Feb 9, 2021
Messages
5,791
Reaction score
2,613
Location
United states
That regulator looks old. I’d probably just replace it and then set the pressure to 12” WC at the first gas outlet.

I’d do this connected to the piping to the fireplace, not a tap on the fireplace valve. At this time I would insure I had good flow at the fireplace inlet.

I’m not sure if your existing regulator is adjustable. If it is you could try to adjust it. While trying to adjust it I would turn off the stop valve to the stove. I would probably disconnect the line to the fireplace and connect to my manometer at that point.

This will protect your equipment if something goes bad and the pressure goes way up......it can ruin your new stove and fireplace control valve.


Also turning the gas back on at the main valve on the tank too fast can ruin the regulator, especially an older one. Go slow
 
Top