Shower replacement. Desperate please help me!!

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Clueless Plumber

Reaction score
Hi, so I’m desperate for help. The hot water for my bath faucet gave out, couldn’t turn it off. Bought a replacement set and am trying to replace it. I’m already struggling with the fact I cannot turn off my water because my shut off valve in my basement is also in need of replacement and doesn’t stop water flow, only slows it. I’ve gotten into the wall to access the old pipes which was a pain on its own. I’m cold a wet and on day two of attempting this. I’ve never done this before and can’t afford a professional. Currently I can’t get the pipe the tub faucet slides onto off to begin taking it apart. Wrenches, vinegar and water mixture to break up any corrosion etc. nothing is working. I’m very overwhelmed and out of my depth. ANY help or advice would be so helpful. I’m attaching pictures of the old fixture and the new set I’m trying to install

Attachments

• EE6F3C63-CCCE-4A40-AF58-CA55DA7E20A0.jpeg
    EE6F3C63-CCCE-4A40-AF58-CA55DA7E20A0.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 0
  • EB3A09D4-57DF-4E56-84A5-25527FB18ED3.jpeg
    EB3A09D4-57DF-4E56-84A5-25527FB18ED3.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 0
  • A7D15A08-6A18-40EA-8900-CCDCABDC4150.jpeg
    A7D15A08-6A18-40EA-8900-CCDCABDC4150.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 0
  • 31094388-1F09-4893-A3F2-E525090D3FBB.jpeg
    31094388-1F09-4893-A3F2-E525090D3FBB.jpeg
    1.4 MB · Views: 0
  • 48D2CDF1-5E94-49D4-9A01-FE27CFB008A3.jpeg
    48D2CDF1-5E94-49D4-9A01-FE27CFB008A3.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 0
Plead on Nextdoor or other local social network for help.
You are out of your depth.

Hello Clueless Plumber,
If you want to accomplish this yourself, and get the good feeling of learning something new and accomplishing something, you may wish to try one of these:

If You Don't Feel Comfortable Soldering Copper Tubing: