Septic tank install

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

turbokp43

Reaction score
I am building a barnament, a barn with an apartment, for my family to live in while we build a new house. I am doing everything myself, some this I have never done before. I am going to be installing my first ever septic tank. I have a 500 gallon low profile poly tank. My understanding is that I will want the main drain coming into the tank to be no more than a quarter inch per foot of fall. Do I gravel the drain line coming in? If so about how much gravel should I put around it? Then do I gravel around the tank? How much do I put around it? My research has indicated that I believe it needs to be compacted as well? Then I need to fill the tank with water as I fill around it. Do I have all this correct?

1/4” per ft is correct for the incoming sewer. It’s compacted a little but not much.

We don’t put gravel around the tank or incoming sewer pipe in my area.

Gravel under the pipe compacted tight. Then pipe. Then gravel over the pipe about 8"above the pipe, then compact. Then dirt for the rest of the fill.

You can use what you want to fill around the tank, but yes it should be compacted. Whatever equipment you use to compact shouldn't be too heavy. Since your tank is plastic I think filling it is a good idea.

Fines are used for bedding in our area for two reasons:
1) There is more rock than soil, and this provides a buffer zone to keep rocks from working into the pipe, causing a leak.
2) If you or someone else needs to dig again later, there is a warning point showing that pipe is buried. The excavation people are tuned in to the white appearance of the fines.

Oh yeah. If this is a long run bury a tracer wire with the pipe. You'll thank yourself later.

Fines are used for bedding in our area for two reasons: