Pressure drops and low water flow at home

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clif

Reaction score
Hi.
I'm not a plumber, but understand how many things work. I'm an operator for a chemical plant, and operate a variety of pumps, etc. just to give an insight on me.

At my new home - my water pressure is about 60 psi with all faucets etc. closed at the nearest spigot to the water meter.

I have a water softener installed for the whole house. It's rated for over 12 gpm I believe, more than what I can get at the house with every faucet open.
Best GPM flow rate I can get is around 5.5 gpm with several faucets opened simultaneously. That being said, I bypassed the softener all together and get the same pressure drop when more than one faucet etc is opened.

If I run my master bathtub faucet (which has a larger line run for it I think) it gets good flow - but it drops the line pressure I think to 40 psi. And if any other faucet etc is opened the line pressure drops to something useless like 15-20 psi. The main bathtub faucet running will cause any other line to drop to a useless trickle almost.

Had the water dept. check out their stuff they claimed they were fine line size, pressure at the meter etc.

Had the plumber who did the plumbing for my house check out everything and they claimed their work was fine, and that the problem is the water dept not supplying enough water.

Water dept. claims that "in the summer people wash their cars, fill pools etc and this is why the water pressure is bad" except now it's the winter and the problem is the same, which I expected.

Is there a solution to this problem that I can do?