Is my basement bar sink plan code compliant?

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

McCheezy02

Reaction score
Novice here…finishing my basement. We are in a city that uses UPC. I’m trying to create a place for a future bar sink in a corner (it will be capped until kids are older, but I want to have it ready to access when we want to add the bar.

The sink will be roughly 14’ away from one of the 3” stacks which serves a couple of second floor bathrooms and the laundry room.

I want to use an AAV because tying into the existing vent stack for the basement bathroom is difficult; my ceilings will be exposed so the AAV will be accessible and have airflow.

Based on my diagram (attached), have I got all my bases covered?

Attachments

• D26154AF-C38A-47BC-A149-8DDCD74CA166.jpeg
    D26154AF-C38A-47BC-A149-8DDCD74CA166.jpeg
    831.5 KB · Views: 21
I would suggest a back water valve about where your coupling is . Also i would do all the red piping in two inch including the p-trap . The blue piping can be it 1 1/2 inch .

I would suggest a back water valve about where your coupling is . Also i would do all the red piping in two inch including the p-trap . The blue piping can be it 1 1/2 inch .
Thanks! I was planning to use 1-1/2” because I would like to go through the 2x4 studs. Is it a code issue to use the smaller pipe?

Thanks! I was planning to use 1-1/2” because I would like to go through the 2x4 studs. Is it a code issue to use the smaller pipe?
depending on your local code, Some codes say that if you can not vent properly you must increase the pipe one size up , Also from personnal experience the 2 inch will function much much better.

depending on your local code, Some codes say that if you can not vent properly you must increase the pipe one size up , Also from personnal experience the 2 inch will function much much better.