Do You Ream Tubing & Pipe?

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bird Doo Head

Reaction score
Many decades ago, I did a plumbing apprenticeship & got my Journeyman's. (I'm not a plumber by trade.) I was sternly taught to always ream pipe ends to remove the burr. The burr would make a place for minerals to build up.

This applied to copper tubing, iron pipe, stainless and brass. The only exception was cast iron soil pipe got the edges cleaned with a grinder unless it was bell-and-spigot. Those got left as-cut.
PVC was just becoming acceptable and we did not touch on it in school.

I sometimes watch house fixing TV shows and never see the plumber ream pipe. Even the guy on This Big Budget show (This Old House) doesn't ream. Also, at work, only the older plumbers and hydronic guys ream pipes & copper tubing.

Do you guys remove the burr inside a pipe after it's cut? Just curious.

It is unforgivable to not ream copper pipe back to original i.d.
It causes turbulence in water piping which can cause well documented (and experienced) erosion failure in hot recirculation.
Can contribute to noise in cold water cu tube.
That's all I know.
Done as a matter of industry practice on steel, don't know if truly data-backed there...

Thank You Breplumb for confirming that I'm not just another old guy doing the old way "just because".

From Breplumb: ".....erosion failure in hot recirculation."
I've seen that in hydronic systems. I never looked, but after reading your comment, I'll bet the copper tubing wasn't reamed. The errosion was always where the tubing was inside the fitting. I'd imagine a non-reamed PVC closet waste pipe could snag lots of paper.

"Done as a matter of industry practice on steel, don't know if truly data-backed there..."