What is this plumbing? (Commercial Water Acess)

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dez

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I clean fleet vehicles for a living. I'm needing over 5,000 gal per visit to take care of a new account we may receive and I'm told they have zero water access for me at their building. Given the size of fleet it's not cost effective to haul the water in. On a site visit I noticed two 1-1/2"??? "risers" that I may be able to pull water from. I've never seen anything like them before so I don't know what to bring to "work" on them. I'm going back tonight to give them a demo on one of their units and I can bring a pipe wrench and report back. The manhole cover next to both of them is stamped water meter so I'm assuming they would be customer service lines but the pipe cap and screened horizontal leg has me stumped as to what they could be and what I would need to bring with me to hook some large hose to them. I would be very appreciative if anyone could tell me what I'm looking at here. Thank you

Attachments

• 20180818_151343.jpg
    20180818_151343.jpg
    3.4 MB · Views: 39
  • 20180818_151539.jpg
    20180818_151539.jpg
    3.5 MB · Views: 38
  • 20180818_151550.jpg
    20180818_151550.jpg
    132.8 KB · Views: 32
Last edited:
Looks like an air vent for the manhole. That is definitely not a water supply.
3rd photo has the bottom of the horizontal pipe cut out with a screen welded over it

152f.jpg

Open the manhole and look inside.
probably not something you want to mess with.
If you don't know what you're messing with best not to mess with it.

Looks like an air vent for the manhole. That is definitely not a water supply.
3rd photo has a the bottom of the horizontal pipe cut out with a screen welded over it