Well pump cycling 10sec.

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello, hopefully someone can give me some insight b4 I go throwing money at this. thanks in advance!
issues- pump comes one and off about every 10-12sec when I'm running water, but only when I'm running water.

I've changed the switch didn't help
made sure the pressure in the well tank is 38psi- i have a 40/60 switch
checked the value on the tank "no water coming out with I release pressure"
also did the knock test, upper 1/4 of the tank is hollow.

system is old and I just purchased this house, so I have no prier knowledge of this system.

should I just buy a new tank and hope it solves this issue, or is there something else "cheaper" i should try?

Yours is the age old story. Even though the air pressure in the tank reads 38 PSI, the top 3/4 of the tank should sound hollow. You won't see any air come out the Schrader until the tank is 100% waterlogged, as air rises and the Schrader is at the very top. The tank will be heavy because the water on top of the diaphragm cannot get out anywhere but the Schrader. You will most likely have to drill a hole in the tank to drain it and make it light enough to haul away.