Turning main water line off and on

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rtrenz2007

Reaction score
First time poster and fairly inexperienced DIYer here, so I appreciate any help. I'm sure these will seem like very basic questions to you all. I'm an accountant; not a handy man, but I like to try to figure things out.

We recently purchased our first home, and I'm looking to do some repairs on a leaking bathtub faucet. However, this post is primarily just about turning off/on the main water line in order to do the repairs.

1) There is no shut off valve at the bathtub, so I believe I will need to shut off the main water line. I've attached a picture of the main by the street. The left side of the picture is street-side of the meter. There is no shut off valve on the house-side of the meter that I can find.

a) From what I've researched, I thought that I should have a valve on the house-side and that I'm not supposed to touch the city-side?

b) If this is in fact the valve that I'm supposed to shut off, my understanding is that I'm supposed to turn it clockwise to shut off. I've seen varying things saying to turn it 90 degrees clockwise or 180 degrees clockwise. My neighbor told me I should turn it 90 degrees clockwise. Just looking at it, this seems odd to me as that would result in the "holes" being aligned opposite from each other. I would think that it would actually need to be turned 90 degrees counter-clockwise, as that would align the holes and I would assume that's how the city shuts off/locks down your water line in the event you're delinquent on bills. Any input?

2) When turning off the main line, I understand it's best to turn it off slowly and then open a faucet in the house to release pressure. It's a 1-story. Not sure if it makes any difference which faucet is opened.