Tank pressurizes Pump turns on, little to no water

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Howdy, I have a well pump and last winter hit hard. Pipes were frozen for over a month. No way to keep the basement warm enough. Was 28 degrees Fahrenheit down there.

Anyways, I kept expecting the well pump to turn on. Now, when I pressurize the air tank, the pump turns on and lots of air comes out the release valve. Sometimes water sprays, rust colored dirty water. I made a video, which I'm hoping to upload later.

My neighbors have a well too, we use the same aquifer, and they report no problems. I'm an amateur plumber. To give you an idea of my expertize I tried to replace the trap under the sink, and after about 5 hours and many parts from Walmart later I had to give up. I broke off the old trap, put the new one in, but the new leaked all over the place!

Water tank: Flotec 40 some gallons precharge
Well Pump: Goulds

The word Flotec means your tank is probably shot. Water should not come out of the schrader valve. I think that's what your calling a release valve.

Thanks for the speedy response. I know the bladder on my Flotec burst long ago. That's why I have to bleed the tank so often and re-pressurize. The plumbing is real old, which you can see when I get the video uploaded. So, I'm afraid I'll have to replace some of the pipes too.

Any recommendations on buying a new water pressure tank?

I uploaded two videos to my profile on this site. Thanks for reply, got go somewhere will read later.

Even though your pump motor sounds like it needs bearings, once you found the right valve, it sounds like your pump is working and you have water. However I do have a headache from watching those videos.