Shower issue

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Selfdestructo

Reaction score
I've been having an issue with the shower in my apartment ever since I moved in. It's on the 2nd floor, and the water pressure is terrible. But it's easy to see why. Half of the water that should be going to the shower just drains out of the bath faucet while the shower is running.

What is this problem called? What part needs to be replaced? I can usually do these types of things myself if I can find a youtube video to show me how. But I'm a novice in terms of plumbing so I'd appreciate any help at all.

I realize this will probably require taking out the entire tub to look at the pipes behind it. It's one of those one piece tub/shower combos.

can you be a bit more informative. when you say just drains out of it

what? describe, what is going on. be descriptive. all i can see is my keyboard

and my cat playing with a bug

is water spraying out from around the handle? 3 handles? 1 handle?

tub spout? shower head?
only when the shower is on? or when tub is on?

if this is an apartment, why not tell the landlord/lady

Thanks for the info people. Just knowing which part needs to be replaced should be enough for me to figure it out.

My landlord doesn't fix things quickly, ever, so I was hoping I could do it myself and get it done in a timely manner.

can you be a bit more informative. when you say just drains out of it

what? describe, what is going on. be descriptive. all i can see is my keyboard

and my cat playing with a bug

is water spraying out from around the handle? 3 handles? 1 handle?

tub spout? shower head?
only when the shower is on? or when tub is on?

if this is an apartment, why not tell the landlord/lady