Sewer Fumes, Bathroom, Help! :)

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

celes247

Reaction score
Hey there, thanks for reading this.

I've been renting this condo for 4 months, and the whole time there has been a intermittent sewer odor in the guest bathroom (regularly used). I only recently realized this could have health effects, and actually have been having a lot of respiratory problems since I've been here (but who knows? Flu season, too). And I have two little kids I'm thinking about here (2 and 6 years old).

Can't seem to pinpoint the smell, except that it's in that bathroom, and it's not everyday. More like every 2-3 days. It doesn't last for more than a few hours each time.

The landlord just had the toilet seam rewaxed, and I am waiting to see if that fixes the problem. If it doesn't, I've been told that I'm most likely out of luck, as the next operation (a smoke test), would cost $2000, involve another condo unit too, and I'd have to convince the HOA to do it. I'm thinking I might have to call the health dept. to get any action on this (assuming the toilet seal doesn't fix things).

My main question is whether or not it's possible to have a clogged drain pipe (for example, the bath tub drain), cause this problem. I ask, because, the kitchen sinks, upon moving in, filled with sewage every evening during peak use hours. The plumber had to snake the drain to fix it. Additionally, the A/C, twice now (with a month and a half or so in between), would leak water constantly onto the floor. The A/C repairman, both times, had to snake the a/c drain to fix it. So that's why I wonder.

So, is that a possible source? The plumbers who came out today to fix the toilet seam said no, I would see liquid in the tub if so.

Thank you for reading.

Last edited: