Questions on septic systems, Newb here.

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scrat

Reaction score
Hi everyone. Im new to the septic world and still learning as I go.
I bought this old earth style Berm house 2 years ago, built in 1986 by the original previous owner who built it passed away so there was no paperwork or anything about the house and its system. I found the well and septic by accident luckily but no clue where the drain field is, only an idea as I cleared a lot of the land which was over grown, cut down trees and brush which was overgrown for years. Let the stepkids stay until they got on their feet and thats when the trouble started... very wasteful and disrespectful kids.
Long story short, smells outside, slow drainsge...ect....
So, they arent here anymore and wont be ever again. I had the tank pumped, added a couple gallons green gobbler to septic tank, added Roebix drainfield cleaner...ect.... started draining a little better but still fills up after showers which it never did before. So I just add some every month hoping to clear up the drainfield as the stepkids wasted water, tons of laundry and dish detergent .... so Im hoping it clears up as I think some debris washed into the field from so much water and detergent being used, I doubt its biomat. The smell has since gone but took a couple months to fade outside.