Pumping water from a river

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chris

Reaction score
I bought a new piece of property and it comes with water rights which means I can legally pump water from the river across the highway from my property. Only problem is ther is no piping or pumps. I want to start the process to figure out what I need to do to make this happen. I don't want to just right a check and will do most all of the work myself. I am confident in installing the piping and power but I have very little pump experience.

This is my scenario, I have about 13 acres that can be irrigated. I want a pump that can do most of this (Obviously not all at one time and probably minimal) I am not going to plant a bunch of crops but probably just have some cattle and trees. So I guess what I am looking for is any info on pumps size and pipe size? I think a 2" pipe would be plenty of volume for me. What are my options on pumps and is there any that don't require some crazy power that will cost me a hundred grand to bring down the street? I already have three meters on my property but don't know what size services they are, one goes to the house and one for the shop and one for an RV pad that I was thinking I would use for the pump.

Any help would be great.

Also I am on the upside of the road so there would need to be a good amount of lift for the pump or I can do a tank and secondary pump if needed.

The difference in elevation between the river and high point of the area I want to irrigate is 70 feet and most is only 30 feet higher. Total length of pipe is about 980 feet.

The difference in elevation between the river and high point of the area I want to irrigate is 70 feet and most is only 30 feet higher. Total length of pipe is about 980 feet.