Pressure booster with a jet pump

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jbny

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm a novice when it comes to plumbing, particularly in this category. We have a house in which water is supplied by a lake. The setup is a wayne 3/4 hp jet pump connected to an underground hose/pipe that runs into the lake that is about 45 feet away. Pump is connected to a 32 gallon pressurized tank, which then supplies water to the house that is elevated about 10 feet above the tank, with the second story being about 20 feet above. The water pressure is pretty bad, which I would expect from this type of setup, but sometimes it drop so low that there is barely enough water to brush teeth or wash hands. Shower pressure is awful.

Is there a way to add a water pressure booster pump to the current setup? The only other thing I can think of is the pump may be pulling in sediment from the foot valve, which is about 18 inches above the sand and 2 feet below the water surface. I will try to clean that when I get a chance, but was curious if a booster pump could be used along with a jet pump to keep the pressure higher?

Any info or ideas would be greatly appreciated. I'd be happy to provide more information if it helps.
Thanks a lot.

You probably have (or should have) a water treatment system or filtering system of some sort.
That system might be clogged up.

A jet pump is a booster pump. If the pump isn't large enough just get a larger one, but you don't want to try double pumping. You may have a suction leak or a restriction. Or that pump just may not build the pressure and lift from that far down.