Poor Hot Water at Kitchen Sink

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eric74

Reaction score
We just recently bought an older, 1978, 2 bed 2 bath town home in good condition generally. It's furred masonry, sheetrock interior walls.

The 40gal. electric water heater is centrally located with short runs to both baths, and perhaps only 20' to the kitchen. Both bath fixtures enjoy hot water quickly, but the kitchen sink hot water takes far too much time to arrive, and the strangest symptom is that after filling the sink with hot water, we can go back 5 minutes later and the water from the hot side is cold again. Unless we run the water back to hot again, taking some time, the water remains at best tepid through washing the dishes.

I'm a retired building inspector and the house I built had none of these issues. I put new sink supplies, faucet and quarter turn shut offs at the kitchen before we moved in. I don't know what the supply piping material is, but the h/c stubs are copper of course.

Anyone have an idea what's going on here, and maybe what I could do to remedy this issue?

Thanks!

What part of the world are you in? How cold is it? Are your pipes insulated? Do you have a water saving device on your faucet? What size pipe do you have rnning to the kitchen?

Thanks havasu, I need to fill out on profile. I'm in Southern Arizona. I'd have to open a wall to check for pipe insulation, but it's typically not done here. Again guessing that the supply piping would be 3/4", with 1/2" stubs at the fixtures. No water saving devices.

I should mention that water pressure at all fixtures is good, with no difference between hot or cold pressures.

And the hot water seems to remain hot at the bath fixtures with no 'going to cold' quickly as does the kitchen sink faucet.