Outdoor Faucet

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jonstar

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a newbie at plumbing.

I have an old outdoor faucet that drips around the stem (?). I was wondering what the proper way to go about it is? I tried turning the stem part but worried I would break it.

I have attached a video and photo.

Thank you everyone!

Jon

Attachments

• IMG_4899.MOV
    1.6 MB
  • IMG_4899.JPEG
    IMG_4899.JPEG
    787.8 KB · Views: 16
  • IMG_4901.JPEG
    IMG_4901.JPEG
    744.3 KB · Views: 16
This is a job for two wrenches...often you can tighten the outer nut if you are holding onto the body of the faucet with another wrench. But, those look old, and it may only be a temporary fix. The packing/washer/seals may be shot and it may be time to replace them, or the entire faucet.

Don't know what your codes are in the great white north, but your faucet is missing the obligatory vacuum breaker.

Thanks Mitchell.

I am happy to replace the whole faucet! This is an old house that I moved into so have been slowly updating.

Am I right that to remove the entire faucet, the place to try to unscrew is the connection between the supply line and the connection point (not sure of name). Basically beyond the nut.

You showed one video (which I'm not able to view) and two photos. The photos are of different faucets of seemingly identical make.

The way these are connected is that ½" copper tubing is soldered into the ½" threaded connection; you can see that on the second photo. I don't like doing things like this but it's perfectly acceptable.