Low hot water pressure - No conventional hot water heater - Diverter valve maybe??

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joel Carmichael

Reaction score
Morning All,

So I am relatively new to the home. It has a hot water heating system I am not that familiar with. I am familiar with a typical boiler, baseboard steam heat, and hot water heater tank. I have a few pictures that show the entire system.

My question is, where and how is the hot water heated and what would cause hot water flow to drop to the point where sinks and showers have good cold pressure but struggle to output hot water?

I know there is the black knob shown in the attached picture which allows me to regulate how hot the water throughout the house gets. I can turn it from 120 to 160 degrees. It will make it hotter (a little) but kills the flow. Is it sediment somewhere? Could it be the pump tank? (second photo of blue tank) There is a whole house water filter (just changed filter media) as you can see in the bottom right corner of the first pic. Any advice is greatly appreciated!! Thanks in advance from a noob!

20181204_191417.jpg

Attachments

• 20181204_191402.jpg
    20181204_191402.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 15
usually that means your tankless coil is getting clogged this is something a plumber would take care of...another question I have is ….there should be a backflow device...
it separates the boiler water from your cold water into the boiler in the case of a reverse flow condition....broken water main,fire hydrant in use, the water feeding your boiler needs a backflow device....your tankless (domestic hot water) does not