Incorporating a new Elec HW tank to current coil/oil furnace

Discussion in 'Water Heaters and Softeners' started by cbliss01, Jan 8, 2018.

Help Support Plumbing Forums by donating:

  1. Jan 8, 2018 #1

    cbliss01

    cbliss01

    cbliss01

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ,
    I'd like to install a new Electric hot water heater and to keep my current water heating system in the case that I need it as a back up. The current system is a oil burner with an internal coil for the water to pass thru to heat, then the water goes to a mixture control valve etc.

    Is it possible for me to plumb in an electric hot water tank into the current system by using shut off valves and TEE connections?

    or is this a not-so-good idea?

    Any advice is appreciated. Thank you in advance.
     
  2. Jan 8, 2018 #2

    voletl

    voletl

    voletl

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2014
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    New York
    You could do that. Just bypass your coil install some isolation valves and hook up to the cold feed and hot outlet. Then disable your low limit on your boiler, so its not staying warm to heat the coil.
     
  3. Sep 26, 2018 #3

    cbliss01

    cbliss01

    cbliss01

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ,
    Thank you for the reply! I may use a tankless heater instead of a traditional electric water heater. The bypass should still work correct?
     
  4. Sep 26, 2018 #4

    voletl

    voletl

    voletl

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2014
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    New York
  5. Sep 26, 2018 #5

    Geofd

    Geofd

    Geofd

    Professional Professional

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    im thinking of doing that in my house already ran electfrom panel have tees on the hot and cold just need the time ….my tankless never runs out of hot water
     

Share This Page