How To Extend the Length of a Fluidmaster Fill Valve?

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skeezix

Reaction score
A few years ago I bought someFluidmaster fill valves for my toilets. I've been doing this for the last 46 years with no problems. The last time I replaced one was 4-5 years ago and then again 2-3 years ago. I had a helluva time pulling the valve apart to set the total length of the valve. The lock collar was loose so that's not the problem. Out of the box the valves are compressed to their shortest length. I don't recall what I did to increase the length but if I remember right whatever I did made it very easy to set the height and reset the lock collar.

I tried unscrewing the top part from the bottom part but nothing happened. Then I tried putting the new valve in my vise and then pulling the bottom part out as hard as I could but it wouldn't budge. How can I extend the length of the valve?

The shaft unscrews or you pull the locking ring up and pull, then push the locking ring back down.

If you’re having trouble then you maybe got a bad batch.

No, one does NOT, repeat, ONE DOES NOT pull the locking ring up to adjust the height of the valve.

So I called Fluidmaster's 800 number and spoke with a Fluidmaster tech. During the discussion I mentioned that I had the "locking ring" pulled all the way up so it touches the bottom of the float. The tech said, "That's wrong. Put the ring all the way down so that it touches the top of the black ring, the bottom of which the rubber seal presses. Then twist the upper and lower parts to engage the adjustment threads."

And so I did.

And then I could adjust the height.