How to backflush kitchen sink with weird check valve (crude diagram included)?

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eyc

Reaction score
Recently had a hot water heater replaced, which exacerbated a problem I've always had with my hot water lines: calcium/lime deposits. Thin egg-shell-like, pastel-green colored, flakes in the pipes.

Usually not a problem. I clean out the lines at the clogged faucet and it's good for several months. But, now I'm having trouble at the kitchen sink and I'm hoping I could get some help. (I'm a complete amateur when it comes to plumbing, so please forgive the lack of proper terminology.)

Relevant facts:
  1. Kitchen faucet is a basic Moen single-handle pull-down faucet from Home Depot (Link to HD here: Moen "Indi" Faucet).
  2. Hot water pressure at the faucet was low, so I did my normal routine.
    1. Turn off hot water valve, disconnect at Point A (see diagram), and pick out flakes from the spigot and tube.
    2. Put faucet handle in neutral and turn on, which back-flushes cold water out of the hot water tubing.
    3. Reconnect, and do the same thing on the cold water side for good measure.
  3. This resolved the hot water pressure, but then I noticed that both lines had lower than normal pressure coming out of the sprayer.
  4. So I cleaned out the sprayer at Point B and I disassembled the ball-valve at Point C and flushed out all pathways.
  5. But, the pressure was still low on both lines, so, I decided to check the main output line that has the black weight attached to it.
  6. What I realized is that the line (with the black weight) is connected to the rigid tube coming out of the ball-valve with some kind of quick connect junction (Point D).