How long does it take for a cloth towel to decompose?

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dollar_Bill

Reaction score
I am a general contractor turned property manager. I had to snake out a line recently and pulled up a face towel, there may be more, I hit it with a 75 foot snake and am going back with a 100 foot tomorrow.

I tell tenants that if I pull up something that should not have been flushed, there is a $200 charge if I have to use a long snake. $75 if only a toilet snake.

The tenant loudly proclaimed that in the 3 1/2 years she has been here, she had never flushed a towel, and that it MUST have been flushed by someone before her.

I dunno. Previous tenants are long gone. So my question is how long does it take for a cotton (label says) terry cloth hand towel to rot away? Seems like it would have rotted away with active flushing over a three and a half year period (?)

What say ye?

Bill,
Atlanta

I am saying that if she has been there 3 1/2 years, any previously flushed towels would have long since caused a backup. Even a face towel is going to take up a lot of room inside of a sewer or drain pipe, catch toilet paper, hair, etc, and cause a stoppage in short order.

I am saying that if she has been there 3 1/2 years, any previously flushed towels would have long since caused a backup. Even a face towel is going to take up a lot of room inside of a sewer or drain pipe, catch toilet paper, hair, etc, and cause a stoppage in short order.

I agree. In my experience of managing property 99% of the time a drain backs up is because someone flushed something they should not have flushed.

BUT