HELP Bathroom sink drain broke off at wall

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikeyjjohn55

Reaction score
Novice here. Need some old school advice. I've gutted a 5 X 7 60 year old bathroom to the stud walls. When removing the sink drain piece that goes from the trap into the wall, I assumed it was a threaded connection. It wasn't and I ended up breaking it in 2 pieces. By these pictures can anyone tell me how the connection was made up. Like solder or lead or what? And most importantly, how would I connect a new piece. Thanks for helping out a dummy! Michael J

100_4701.jpg

100_4702.jpg

100_4704.jpg

What you have is a brass solder bushing into a female ell. Very carefully using a metal saw cut through the solder bushing from inside. Make two cuts a 1/2" apart through the bushing without cutting into the threads of the ell. Remove the 1/2" section using a small chisel or screwdriver. With the 1/2" section removed the rest should be able to be picked out. Then install a trap adbt. into the ell.

John, Thanks so much for the reply. Sounds like you know your stuff. A few questions more if you don't mind. Should I have been able to unscrew this pipe from the fitting in the first place or was just corroded to the point that it broke off? When you say a "metal saw" is that like a hacksaw blade? So, as I understand it, there are threads on the female ell but the drain pipe was soldered into place anyway? Lastly, I don't know what a "trap adbt" is. Is that a piece that would thread into the ell? Would that be a Home Depot type item or a plumbing supply store item.
Thanks again for your time and advice! I do appreciate it. I really like being a DIYer but this one was beyond my experience. The good thing is that I learned something new and may be able to avoid a costly service call.

Sincerely, Michael Johnson (Mon., 10:52 PM CDT)