Faulty well oump

Discussion in 'Pumps and Wells' started by CTDIYER, May 17, 2019.

Help Support Plumbing Forums by donating:

  1. May 17, 2019 #1

    CTDIYER

    CTDIYER

    CTDIYER

    New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ,
    Hello. I recently purchased a piece of property in VT. I'm starting up a well that's been dormant for about 3 1/2 years due to the house burning down. I hooked it up to a generator to see if it functioned. It took a bit but I started to get some flow of water. It would flow for about 3-4 seconds and then stop for about 30 seconds. It would gen flow for about 3-4 seconds again. Also at the first the water was clear then it turned muddy. Any thoughts in this? Does the pump need to be replaced?
     
  2. May 20, 2019 #2

    Valveman

    Valveman

    Valveman

    Pump Controls Tech Professional Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    ,Lubbock, Texas
    Is this a two wire pump or three wires with a control box?
     
  3. May 21, 2019 #3

    CTDIYER

    CTDIYER

    CTDIYER

    New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ,
    It's a 3 wire. 220v. It's not hooked up to anything right now because the house burned down. I hooked the wires from the pump directly to the generators 220 outlet
     
  4. May 21, 2019 #4

    Valveman

    Valveman

    Valveman

    Pump Controls Tech Professional Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    ,Lubbock, Texas
    A three wire pump needs a capacitor start box. The two wire from the generator go to the control box, then three wires from the control box to the motor. Won't start without one.
     

Share This Page