Electric Water Heater doesn't heat - checked everything, puzzling!

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pgrillo

Reaction score
I am not a professional plumber. We have had 2 plumbing companies come in and look at this and unable to figure it out. I have done as much testing as possible - and am clueless as to what is happening.

30 Gallon Water Heater. 2 years old, dual element
Suddenly it will not heat water to hot. Get very luke warm water for about 30 seconds, then goes to cold.

Both elements and thermostats replaced by first plumber. A new set of thermostats replaced by second plumber.
Testing procedure and results and comments.

With digital tester
  • Voltage reading at top (before top thermostat) is 209 Volts. 0 volts when breaker is turned off
  • Top Element and Bottom Elements
    • With power off, remove wires.
    • Get continuity pole to pole
    • Ohm resistance is 14 ohms
    • Checked each pole for a short - no issues
  • Power back on
    • Top element. Turn thermostat all the way on, get 209 Volts reading at element
    • Top element Turn thermostat all the way down, get 0 voltage at top element
    • At same time I turn lower thermostat all the way up, and i get expected 209 volts on lower element.
  • It appears that voltage readings at each element working properly. top on when needed, and when top is satisfied, power is routed through lower thermostat and ultimately the element.
So, the reality is that the top element which is reading 209 Volts, essentially remains that way and will not turn off, will not heat water to appropriate temp (using 130).