Cutting through cast iron soil pipe

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jim_flaunt

Reaction score
So I've dug a trench to get to my 4' cast iron soil pipe and have it all exposed. I've watched lots of Youtubes on how to cut through it with a chain cutter. It looks easy. What am I missing? Is it actually difficult? I've never done it before. I don't want to rent the cutter and then realize something I hadn't thought of.

Just want to cut through in two places to make a gap, in order to install a two-way cleanout. Thank you for any advice.

use a diamond grinder to cut the cast iron pipe. i use a 4.5 inch diamond grinder. make sure pipe is not rotted completely. because if it is you might be chasing pipe to get a good piece. make sure you use 4 inch husky bands to make your connections so you don't have issues in future with movement or offsets. most people will use fernco bands which is going to cause you issues in the future

But what's wrong with a chain cutter? The pipe is not old or rotted at all. Thanks for the advice.

a chain cutter is a tricky little devil, it will ake you longer to figure out how to ue it than it will o actually use it.

but here goes..
open cutter, route chain under pipe over the top of pipe. stand next to pipe with 1 leg of cutter over your right shoulder as you bend over
open adjustment. hook chain into jaw. step back...adjust chain till the handle is waist high. with a quick and FORCEFUL downward movement
of the handle cut pipe

if your cut breaks out to much cast,,readust handle to low
if your cut does not break out enough handle to high

I strongly recomend using a grinder to cut your cast....a cast cutter takes practise.
usually when a apprentice is introduced to cutters, it is a 2 or 3 hour learning process, which I enjoy watching ,
the pain and humiliation

go for it!!!!!