Bugs, lizard poop, and mold in brine tank...and no discharge line?

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Walt3k

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to water softeners and have moved into a house with a Clack with the usual setup AFAIK. I am wondering if what I am seeing is normal. The skinny tube which runs from the mineral tank to the brine tank goes through a huge hole in the side of the brine tank. It's so big, bugs, flies, even lizards appear to be going in because I saw lizard poop (I think) stuck to the white plastic column inside (whatever that is called). Also, there is a male tube connection which I thought was supposed to go to an overflow tank (for regeneration) but it's not connected and offers yet another nice way for the outside everything to get inside. I will attach photos.
Is this normal? I notice the water in the house smells like chlorine which is why I checked the tank. I am wondering if the diamond salt tablets have chlorine. I can't sniff the tank because mold was growing on a sticker placed on the top of the white plastic column. Aye caramba - this is the water I'm drinking??

Attachments

• bighole.jpg
    bighole.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 0
  • Inside hole.jpg
    Inside hole.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 0
  • moldwater.jpg
    moldwater.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 0
Were your not familiar with this system and it sounds like it needs work you need to find a reputable company that services this system so you can at least get it running properly so you will have some knowledge and a clean starting point