blower pressure switch trouble

Discussion in 'Water Heaters and Softeners' started by russ1, Dec 3, 2018.

Help Support Plumbing Forums by donating:

  1. Dec 3, 2018 #1

    russ1

    russ1

    russ1

    New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wisconsin
    I have an A O Smith 40 gal water heater power vent,
    The fan comes on but then I get an error code that pressure switch is not closing. I have jumped that switch and the burner starts up just fine. I have blown out the exhaust so there is no blockage. I have sucked on the switch hose and this closes the contacts, checked this using an ohm meter. I also bought a new switch and is working fine. I have also blown out the barbed brass fitting that comes out of the blower to make sure that is clear and replaced the hose. The fan seems to blow with plenty of power. All I can think of is that the fan blower is not running fast enough to create enough vacuum to close the switch or am I missing something? Any help would be appreciated!
    Thanks
     
  2. Dec 8, 2018 #2

    Diehard

    Diehard

    Diehard

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    North reading, Mass.
    I looked for any info that would help trouble shot your problem but came up empty. Lots about testing the switch, as you already have. But nothing relative to verifying the adequacy of the fan.
    I would call A O Smith factory engineers and ask them.

    I did find this Tech Bulletin...
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Dec 9, 2018 #3

    Rickyman

    Rickyman

    Rickyman

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    ,
    Disconnect the vent and try to run the heater. If it operates normal you have a partially blocked vent. If it doesn’t work, check the combustion inlet of the heater for a blockage. Also make sure there’s no holes in the rubber tube to the pressure switch and it seals tight.
     
  4. Dec 13, 2018 #4

    SHEPLMBR

    SHEPLMBR

    SHEPLMBR

    not a Junior Member anymore! Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    NOKESVILLE, VA
    Is in in a room with good airflow?
     
  5. Dec 21, 2018 #5

    russ1

    russ1

    russ1

    New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wisconsin
    Thanks for the replies, I'll try taking the stack off and blowing out the inlet and yes it has good air flow the heater is about 10 years old and was working fine
     
  6. Dec 21, 2018 #6

    RenewDave

    RenewDave

    RenewDave

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    ,
    Clean the fan itself. These motors are very low amprage, so if the fan blades get oily or dirty they weigh more. The resistance put on the motor to overcome the added weight can through that error code. It sounds crazy but I have fixed a bunch of tankless error codes by cleaning fan blades.
     
  7. Dec 21, 2018 #7

    russ1

    russ1

    russ1

    New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wisconsin
    Thank you I'll give it a try !!!
     
  8. Dec 21, 2018 #8

    russ1

    russ1

    russ1

    New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wisconsin
     

Share This Page