ABS joint turned from yellow to white

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kiton

Reaction score
I had a kitchen counter installer in about a year ago to install new kitchen cupboards. They sent a "plumber" to do the install, he used ABS over PVC.

One of the joints has turned from yellow to white.

I assume this will need to be cut out and replaced?
What causes the ABS cement to turn from yellow to white?

Thanks,

ABS cement is almost always black. Clear is available but seldom sold or used. If you had yellow or now white, the incorrect cement was used by their "plumber". If I were you I would just keep an eye on it for leaks.

Ummmm SHR I've been plumbing for over ten years and always use yellow abs cement y2 medium bodied and never had a leak the only time I've seen clear was on PVC cement used Manila on irrigation system nothing on sched 80 level .... Just saying

In reply to Kiton u most likely have a crack in ur joint or the glue was sparse or the fitting did not get a 1/8 to 1/4 turn when joined so there's has been a small leak which has calcium build up is my best guess or it's cracked in Any case replace it and yellow and cement is fine y6 is not the greatest as it's runny As heck

I spoke to a master plumber down the street last night about this and he said about the same as you Viking, adding that it could have been repositioned during the curing process. I made a test joint and after a short pause pulled the joint apart and repositioned it and tried to put it back together and the soup of the two pieces in the process of fusing together was white.

He also said start using PVC for drains, not ABS.

I cut the joint out and replaced it.

Thanks guys.