Winterizing Flowing Pipe

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Webbhouser

Reaction score
Would love some input on how to possibly troubleshoot this problem.

We have a 3/4" (inner diameter) steel pipe that is currently directing flow from a borehole. I have attached a diagram to show what it roughly looks like, although the dimensions on the diagram are not correct. We are hoping the stop the flow roughly 3' below ground surface to winterize the pipe. Our first solution would be to use a product such as this - Link (Twist N Seal), however the length is only 12". For reference, the flow out of the pipe has ranged from 0.2 to 0.4 L/sec.

Has anyone used a product such as Twist N Seal, or some other alternative? Or is there another way of possibly stopping the flow? I appreciate any advice as I have little to no plumbing experience.

Attachments

• Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    144.2 KB · Views: 0
How much pressure does it need to hold? is it 1-, 1.5 or 2-inch

I’d look at a test plug with the wing nut replaced by a coupling nut on the end of piece of all-thread. I’d put locktite on the all-thread rod, and screw the coupling nut onto it 3 or 4 threads. Let that sit over night, and then screw the test plug on. Put it down the pipe and tighten it in with the all-thread comes in 3 and 6-ft lengths so you could put it the full 6-ft down.

Option 2, assuming artesian flow, is to let it run, if you can tolerate the mess In the spring. Ground water is always warmer than freezing, so it own’t freeze until it runs a ways and cools down.

How much pressure does it need to hold? is it 1-, 1.5 or 2-inch