Washer Drain and Vanity Drain Design

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello Everybody
Been enjoying the site and learning a lot. Thanks to everyone for their expertise.
I'm currently trying to add a washer outlet on the other side of the wall and a vanity on this side--sharing a drain that will run to a main stack. I'm working with a diagonal vent that goes straight to the roof as seen in the first picture below.
upstairs bathroom #2.jpg.
Does the mock-up below even start to address a solution? IF so, any help on which fittings to use in positions A, B, C, D, E much appreciated. My original guess is Sanitee for C & E and combo (wye plus 1/8 bend) for fitting D. I dont really have a guess for A. Id really appreicate any ideas, directions or tips you could throw at me, with as much detail as able (im a newbie). Any help appreciated.

Any help appreciated. upstairs bathroom 4.jpg

Your fitting choices look good, and using a combo at "A" would be appropriate. But the washer vent line is not supposed to go horizontal until it is 6" above the top of the standpipe. So, the horizontal section of the vent line needs to be raised, or the washer standpipe needs to be lowered, yet still needs to meet code requirements.
1707662102453.png

The way you have it piped it’ll probably never back up out of the standpipe, if that drain clogs it’ll fill up the lavatory and overflow in the bathroom.

Was going to church so I answered too fast. Here's an easier way to plumb this. A vent line, wet or dry, can be run at 45 degrees before it reaches 6" above the fixture being served, as the codes consider them "vertical". And as Twowaxhack pointed out, the overflow will occur at the sink should a blockage occur downstream. "C" and "E" should be Sanitary tees.

And is that galvanized piping that you are connecting to? You may want to consider replacing that as well.