Very uneven flange - what should I do?

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

filmaj

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

Long-time lurker first-time poster. Total newbie and not a professional here so bear with me :)

I bought a home this year (first one!) and in the basement I have a washroom with a toilet. I noticed the toilet was wobbly when we moved in but didn't think much of it until recently. Now that I have a potential tenant coming in, I wanted to fix the issue. I removed the toilet and noticed that the thing around the pipe (closet flange, I think this thing is called?) was _really_ uneven. I have attached pictures of the flange:

1. Flange, top view
IMG_20220812_110400.jpg
2. Flange, side view, lower (1/4") side
PXL_20220812_143405694.jpg
3. Flange, side view, higher (5/8") side
PXL_20220812_143400850.jpg

The entire unit is above the floor - on the low side, about 1/4", but on the high side: 5/8"! Serious tilt. Before going to get a new wax or rubber seal, I tried to do a 'dry run' of putting the toilet back on but it is indeed wobbly... the toilet does not sit on the floor, so I assume some part of the toilet must be sitting on the flange. Not sure if it's the toilet horn, or maybe even that the flange is so high that the area around the toilet horn is sitting on the flange. Tough for me to say.

The flange opening into the pipe is 2.5". The depressed area around the opening is 3.5". The horn of the toilet has a 2" opening with it being 3" at its widest - here's a pic of the bottom of the toilet:

PXL_20220812_152841149.jpg