Replacing old tub spout

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Emsalee

Reaction score
I have a badly corroded, leaky tub spout that I want to replace. I have zero plumbing experience but it seems this should be a simple task. The existing spout has a hole at the base which would indicate a set screw, however when I look up there I don't see any screws. It looks like the previous home owner squirted a bunch of clear caulking up there and I was able to pull some of it out with tweezers. I still don't see any screws, just the pipe I believe. I'm not sure how to proceed. Any advice would be appreciated. I tried to take a picture but it isn't the most clear.
IMG_20190305_100754941.jpg
IMG_20190305_094734269.jpg
IMG_20190305_101041034.jpg

Hard to tell from the pictures, but if you can spin the spout, the presence of a set screw really doesn't matter.

I would suggest turning the spout counter-clockwise while pulling on it. Some spouts have female threads and are screwed on to a male threaded pipe.if the spout seems to move away from the rub wall as you do that, you probably have that type of spout.

If it does not seem to be threaded, it should come off by moving it clockwise and counter clockwise as you pull on it, wiggling it off.

Hope that helps.

Thank you, it was threaded on. The hole on the bottom threw me off, I was worried about damaging the pipe if there was a screw that needed to be removed first.

Many manufacturers use the same mold for both types.