Would like opinions on the Grundfos Alpha 1

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

loudipierro

Reaction score
Hello all. I am currently in the process of selecting equipment for a new Combi boiler that I am installing in my home. I am a boiler technician but I work with large industrial steam boilers mainly, and mostly with controls. I am not a hydronic expert. But I have done a lot of residential plumbing and HVAC work. I am either going to go with the Laars FT series (140k BTU) or the Bosch Singular 4000 (155k), both are priced the same and are roughly the same size. I'm actually not sure which one to go with but thats a topic for another thread. If any of you guys have a preference between those two brands please let me know.

However, the reason I created this thread and what I am having a little bit of difficulty with is selecting a circulator. I've taken measurements and done the head loss calculations, but its very close so I'm really not sure. I just wanted to get some opinions on this. Here are the details about my house and heating system:

Home is about 2000 sq ft of heated space, 4 heating zones all with 3/4" zone valves.

Zone 1 is radiant floor in the original concrete slab which is a total of about 850 sq ft. There are 4 loops, each one about the same size and consisting of about 80-100 feet of 1/2" copper tube in the concrete. I am putting in a new 4 loop stainless manifold to supply the 4 loops. The manifold itself is going to be supplied from the zone valve with 1" PEX (supply and return) and is about 40 feet from the zone valve (so 80 feet of 1 PEX total). There will be very few, if any, fittings in the PEX.