Toilet flange help

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Daisyflower

Reaction score
Hello,

I have recently removed my old pvc flange that was glued in place from my pvc pipe in my concrete slab. When I dry fitted the new flange into the drain there was a very small amount of "play" between the two-they were not totally snug.

I went ahead and primed and concreted thinking the concrete would be thick enough to fill this "gap" (I have never used pvc glue before). Well there is still a small gap between my flange and drain that I can feel when I run my fingers where the flange and drain meet. Of course one side of my flange is super tight where it is pressed into the drain. The other side wiggles a little and the wall of the flange and of the drain are not next to each other--no bond from the glue.

So my question is do I need to cut and chip out the new flange I installed and put in a different one? Was it a manufacturing issue with the flange I bought just not quite being thick enough. I think I bought the right size the standard 3x4 flange to go inside a 4 inch drain.

I am concerned about septic gas or water leaking out of this gap. Gap at the largest is just under 1/4 inch is my guess from feeling with my fingers.

Thanks so much for your advice in advance!

Can you post some pictures.
Are you using a 4" flange over 4" pipe?
a 3" will sometime fit inside the 4" pipe

Here is a photo. The size on the flange says CF4x3. It is made by Sioux chief mfg

1473300640955-1983727235.jpg