Replacing valve in single handle shower/tub issue

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kbujal08

Reaction score
Hi. I only have hot water coming out of the shower. Assuming the valve went bad. So I figured I'd replace the fixtures while I have it taken apart for the repair. Whoever installed the acrylic tub surround did not cut the hole big enough for access to the valve. Without taking the entire shower surround off, I think I need to cut the hole bigger around the valve. What can I use to do this so I don't crack the acrylic? Since this should have been done properly before installation. I have no idea what I'm doing. Never done plumbing before so beginner here. Any suggestions are appreciated

Attachments

• IMG_20210622_191115378.jpg
    IMG_20210622_191115378.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 14
you don't have access or drywall behind it? Meaning a room behind that shower wall?

The pipe is mounted to a wood board on the side of the access panel. And it was screwed down from the shower side. I also am not confident in cutting the board and getting the right depth if I were to go that route and replace the whole valve.

Attachments

• IMG_20210622_190552417.jpg
    IMG_20210622_190552417.jpg
    3.7 MB · Views: 7
That looks like a Moen cartridge. Just replace that. Slide the silver sleeve off and pull that clip straight up and remove cartridge.
Well, that's what I'm trying for. I did pull the sleeve part off. And the clip is further back than the acrylic shower walls. So this is where I'm stuck. Now what? Something that should have been simple turned into a bigger problem for me I think. So frustrating!

You can tease the clip out with a small flat screwdriver and grab it with needle nose pliers.

But getting it back in later on will probably be tough.