Plumbers Transferring Business From Local Supply Stores to Amazon?

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

plumb54

Reaction score
Hi, I'm an analyst researching trends in the plumbing industry, and I have a question only for the professional plumbers here (as opposed to DIY guys):

I would like to understand what are your views on Amazon's increasing BTB supply business, specifically regarding plumbing products?

Do you think a few years from now you would transfer a material part of your business from local supply stores (such as Ferguson) to Amazon Business?

What would be the main reasons you would or wouldn't do so (such as price, convenience, etc.)?

Which features that Amazon can add would cause you to transfer more of your business to Amazon?

Alternatively, which features local supply stores can add to cause you to keep your business with them?

Any additional insights would be helpful.

Many thanks in advance!

If I needed a big item and amazon was cheaper than the supply houses around here I wouldn't have a problem buying from them. Amazon is usually higher priced on items that I have looked at.

If I needed a big item and amazon was cheaper than the supply houses around here I wouldn't have a problem buying from them. Amazon is usually higher priced on items that I have looked at.

Tom, many thanks for that.
Regarding the higher prices - do you refer to Amazon Business (their BTB marketplace) or to the regular Amazon retail?

Tom, many thanks for that.
Regarding the higher prices - do you refer to Amazon Business (their BTB marketplace) or to the regular Amazon retail?

Just the regular Amazon site. I have purchased items on amazon that isn't plumbing related.