Offset flange installed improperly

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jbradford731

Reaction score
Hello everyone. Newbie here with a request for some advice.

Moved into a home in April that was built in 97. About 2 weeks ago the toilet in the downstairs halfbath started rocking and leaking. Replaced the wax ring and couldn't get it to seat onto the tile. Lo and behold realized the flange wasn't installed deep enough in the sewer pipe.

Called AHS, they sent a plumber from ARS - rescue rooter. He said because I started working on it that it wouldn't be covered. Gave my wife a $900 quote to jackhammer the concrete and put in a new flange. I thought that was a little excessive. I've bought a 4x3 offsett flange which looks like it fits inside the sewer line. Also bought a chisel to do the concrete work. Used a masonry wheel to cut most of the top of the flange away. I don't have a dremel to cut from the inside.

I'm a little apprehensive about moving forward from this point and am looking for some advice. Should i buy a dremel and cut/chisel the old flange out, hammer some concrete and cut the sewer drain to the right height? Should the flange be level with the tile?

Or, should i hire someone (a professional) to do the work from here?

If I hire someone, what would be a fair price to do the work from here?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Pics are attached.

Thanks,

Brad

toilet drain pic 1.jpg

toilet drain pic 2.jpg

toilet drain pic 3.jpg

What you need is a inside cutter. It's a very simple job with no need to chisel up the floor. Just cut the pipe to the proper length and install the new flange. Be sure to screw the flange to the floor using tap-cons. I would be a very rich man if I got $900.00 for every one I have done. It's about a half hour job.

Shop Superior Tool Internal PVC Pipe Cutter at Lowes.com

John

Last edited: