Looking for a Milwaulkee propress tool

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brad.smith3485

Reaction score
I'm a plumbing professional and with the age of the infrastructure locally, finding more and more difficulties with valves not holding water back yet repairs are necessary. I'm looking for a milwaulkee propress tool, short throw ideally. Tool only, 12 or 18v, doesn't matter. Jaws from 1/2" to 1" as I do mainly residential service. Simply not looking to spend $2k if a used tool exists in good condition. Thanks!

If you don’t even want to buy the tool at retail are you going to buy the fittings that cost an arm and a leg ? Plus the tool has a service interval, that costs money too.

You never know the number of presses you'll get on a used tool.
I bought my big Ridgid 240 on EBAY and have pressed our way through many stories of projects through 2-1/2" on down. Couldn't be happier by the way.
It is a price of entry for the equipment but in my part of the world, the cost of press fittings just isn't a thing especially because our labor is outrageous.
EVERY plumbing contractor owns press tools out here.
I also wouldn't go out without the compact close quarter head kit that Ridgid makes for tight spots. 1651445217711.png

3/4” 90 press fitting is $4.26
3/4” 90 solder fitting is $1.28

just to give people an idea of the cost difference.

sure you still need to buy copper sweat supplies and they’re not cheap, but there’s no $2000+ tool to buy and maintain.......or walk off a job.

Pro's and con's on both sides! Be it right or wrong, sweating pipes (no matter how tight the space) is "expected" by the consumer. We have won a bunch of jobs just by asking how our competitor is attaching their fittings (consumers don't know what they don't know!?) and showing them the "NEW" press technology we use. And to Twowax's point, we charge more, cause it's better (haha)!