Leak in bathroom

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shelbyr

Reaction score
Hello all,

I have a dilemma and I’m hoping to get some advise. I am wondering if I should call a plumber or attempt to fix the issue myself.

I have two bathrooms in my home. The bathrooms share a wall, and the shower walls are horizontal to each other. I noticed in both bathrooms, along the exterior edge of the shower/tub the grout is wet. I have applied pressure with a wash rag and it dampens the rag each time, not really seeming to dry the area. I am by no means an expert so I resorted to google. This may be an issue with the drain which I am fairly confident I could replace myself. However, my fear is that it is something more. Should I attempt to replace the drains or should I call a plumber? I am hesitant as I don’t want to spend unnecessary money but do not want to let the issue get worse. Thank you in advance.

*UPDATE*

Had a plumber come out and he recommended a complete shower remodel. The handle in both showers was determined as the cause of the water on the floor. Is a remodel truly necessary? They applied a sealant to the handle but said this only a bandaid. Thanks

Attachments

• 52B2CF40-A57E-4D7D-B646-E8709E1628DD.jpeg
    52B2CF40-A57E-4D7D-B646-E8709E1628DD.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_6597.jpeg
    IMG_6597.jpeg
    756.9 KB · Views: 0
  • 73549060991__43923D1C-7A41-4AA3-AB11-61AC6AB75FA1.jpeg
    73549060991__43923D1C-7A41-4AA3-AB11-61AC6AB75FA1.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 1
  • 73549591208__C5696B42-BDB8-4985-9F0E-2DD8EE307D4B.jpeg
    73549591208__C5696B42-BDB8-4985-9F0E-2DD8EE307D4B.jpeg
Last edited:
I doubt it has anything to do with plumbing. Most often it is a failure during installation of wall material and migrating moisture down from the tub top.