Kitchen sink will not drain.

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Charlie G.

Reaction score
Full disclosure; I am not a plumber. I am a retired compute engineer, and you know that those guys have not common sense.
Problem: Triple sink in kitchen. Middle is for disposal. Both sinks have been slow to drain for a while, but yesterday very nearly stopped draining entirely. Drain rate is about 10 minutes per gallon from either sink. Sink starts to fill within 5 seconds of turning on the faucet fully.
Environment: Kitchen is near North end of house about 50 feet from exit house to septic field at South end of house. There is a bathroom further North. There has been no problem at that location (or any other). I have a full basement and so I checked to see where the kitchen drain was located relative to other drains. It appears that the North bathroom is further upstream from the kitchen, joining with the kitchen sink drain at a tee directly below the kitchen sink. Thus I surmised that the problem must be in the approx. four feet from the sinks to the tee in the basement. Since neither sink drains properly then it seems likely that the problem is in the straight downpipe to the basement tee.
What I've done thus far:
a) Ran a bottle of drain cleaner through it following directions, followed with hot water. No change.
b) Looked for a way to get a snake in the downpipe. Found that I could remove the vent from the top of the pipe. Ran a snake down to the tee in the basement. Didn't find anything on the snake, and it didn't impact the problem.