Help with removing/install kitchen faucet

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BLev

Reaction score
20180704_141952.jpg Hi all, looking for some help with a new faucet install for my kitchen sink. It looks like it should be an easy job, except that I have little plumbing knowledge. The faucet I'm removing has copper supply lines. They are connected with pex connectors into the copper pipe.

I'm unsure of how to remove the pex lines. Should I cut it and pull it out or is there some other trick to it? I've got the new faucet and two pex connectors. Are there any fittings or couplers needed? I went into this thinking this was all I needed but am now questioning that.

Picture of the lines attached.

Thanks for any help!

Last edited by a moderator:
Start at the upper copper and follow it down to the brass connector. That is the coupling that you unscrew and will connect to the new faucet. Although the plastic lines are in need of replacement, without a lower pic, I can't tell you if a new stainless steel braided line will work or not, but should.

Start at the upper copper and follow it down to the brass connector. That is the coupling that you unscrew and will connect to the new faucet. Although the plastic lines are in need of replacement, without a lower pic, I can't tell you if a new stainless steel braided line will work or not, but should.

Thanks for the reply. So once I unscrew the coupling, do just yank out the plastic lines? I was concerned something might bust as I need to use some force to remove, it seems.

The bottom of the copper that you can't see just goes down a few more inches into holes underneath the cabinet.

Unless you have individual shut off valves, you will need to shut down the incoming water line, then adding separate shut off valves.