bathtub drain linkage assembly not stopping water flow

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

karkalec

Reaction score
Hi There,

I'm a total amateur and am trying to get my tub drain to stop water so my little girl can take a bath. I removed the face plate and there was no part of an old linkage assembly behind it except a cotter pin left over. I stuck a coat hanger down in the hole and could fish out nothing, although I did get the coat hanger stuck for a few heart-stopping seconds.

This morning I bought a Danco tub drain linkage assembly at Home Depot. I noticed it was the only option they had and assumed they were standard size for that reason. When I tried it out it did not stop the flow of the water out of the drain. I tried adjusting it to various lengths including making it as long as possible so I could feel it resting on the bottom of the pipe (it went in very smoothly and I couldn't feel any parts of the old assembly down there when I was feeding it in). Water still drains out of the tub regardless of where the drain stopper is. Anybody have any idea why this is so?

Thanks!

Justin

Wet rag in the drain is the most Ghetto assemblly.. but I assume you are talking about a plug ??

just buy one that is the same diamater of the drain outlet.

Did the trip lever and drain operate normally before or are you new to the house? For you to pull off the face plate and find only the cotter pin would indicate that there is something left in the overflow tube. If you can get to the back of the tub to see the oveflow tube, maybe a measurement will help out. You would be able to see where the horizontal and the vertical parts of the drain meet and where the plug would sit to stop the flow.