Plumbing Forum - Professional & DIY Plumbing Forum > General Plumbing Discussion > Pumps and Wells > Well pressure tops out at 68psi. How do I increase pressure?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2012, 07:02 AM   #1
chaseme5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 34
Default Well pressure tops out at 68psi. How do I increase pressure?

Hi,

System is as follows:

well 400ft.

2 pumps one in the well, one on the surface for delivery of water to house.

5000 gallon storage tank.

2.5HP ITT Industries centrugal pump. Motor by baldor. (surface delivery pump).

40 gal pressure tank.

Lense microprocessor controlled motor drive unit.

Densco transducer pressure switch. 0-160 psi.

system is 9 years old.

The problem is that we would like to increase the pressure at the house.

Pressure at the house is around 55psi after all the filters. We would like to increase it but the surface pump seems to max out at 67-68psi.

The house is about 350ft from the well. Can we increase the pressure to 72-75psi at the well? Is that possible? Is our pump wearing out?

water quality:

TDS: 1200
ph 7.3
Hardness 35 GPG
Silica 49.7 mg/l

TDS, hardness, silica is extremely hard on all of the equiptment.



__________________
chaseme5 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2012, 04:00 AM   #2
waterwelldude
Water well,and septic guy
 
waterwelldude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: S.E. Texas
Posts: 265
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

If the pressure is around 68 at the tank, I would stop there.
The pressure reading you get at the house you say is after the filters. Is that reading when the water is running or with everything off and no one is using water?
The filters will slow down the amount of flow you get at the house if water is being used, thus, reduced pressure.



__________________

Edit Signature

waterwelldude is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2012, 07:14 AM   #3
chaseme5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 34
Default

The reading is when nothing is running. The pressure at the pump changes from 50-65 psi. The pump does not turn on until the pressure drops below 50. I would like the pressure to be a bit higher. If I set the upper limit to 68 psi the pump might not turn off so that is why I lowered it to 65. I have a 1 micron filter that contributes to the pressure drop, as well as a water softener. The pressure at the house is at a range, it does not hold steady at one number. It fluxuates.

__________________

Last edited by chaseme5; 03-12-2012 at 07:19 AM.
chaseme5 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-13-2012, 02:05 PM   #4
Valveman
Pump Controls Tech
 
Valveman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 114
Liked 12 Times on 9 Posts

Default

I would need the model number of the pump to be sure, but the only 2.5 HP I see will max out at about 65 PSI. Probably 67-68 with flooded suction as when pumping from an above ground tank. So if it is maxed out at 67 PSI, it is not pumping any water. The more water you use, the lower the pressure the pump can build. At 50 PSI, that pump can put out about 40 GPM.

If you want more pressure, you will have to get a pump that will produce more pressure and less gallons. Either a multistage centrifugal pump or a submersible placed inside the storage tank will give you more pressure.

__________________
www.cyclestopvalves.com
Valveman is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-13-2012, 05:57 PM   #5
chaseme5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 34
Default

Yes you are correct. When the pump is maxed out it is not pumping any water. However if water is being used out of a couple lines it is still able to build pressure. For example if it is at 40 psi it can bulid to 65 psi with water being pumped to the house. If the sprinklers are used it can not build pressure but it can hold pressure.

I will try to get a model number for the pump.


The identification tag is not readable on the pump anymore. However I did find a servive call reciept with this info

Goulds HSC20 multistage booster pump.
AC TECH M220S-251 Varible Frequency Drive, 2HP,230V

__________________

Last edited by chaseme5; 03-13-2012 at 07:44 PM.
chaseme5 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2012, 01:47 PM   #6
Valveman
Pump Controls Tech
 
Valveman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 114
Liked 12 Times on 9 Posts

Default

The curve for that pump shows it can build 90 PSI, and will produce 20 GPM at 77 PSI. So I would say your problem is with the VFD. There are many things that can be set wrong or just not working right with a VFD. You would be much better off with a 60/80 pressure switch and a CSV.

__________________
www.cyclestopvalves.com
Valveman is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2012, 07:13 AM   #7
chaseme5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 34
Default

This is going to take some time to figure out. Thanks for the info.

__________________
chaseme5 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2012, 02:57 PM   #8
speedbump
Water well and pump tech
 
speedbump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Riverview, Florida
Posts: 939
Liked 55 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default

You would be better off using a flow switch to actuate that pump instead of any other type of controller. At 1 gallon per minute the flow switch turns on the pump and keeps it at it's max against how ever much water your using. This way you don't have to wait for the lower pressure setting for the pump to come on. They are a bunch less money than a transducer also.

speedbump is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-18-2012, 02:39 AM   #9
Driller1
Member
 
Driller1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: , Michigan
Posts: 83
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chaseme5 View Post
This is going to take some time to figure out. Thanks for the info.
I love the VFD systems however, they are not for a non professional in many cases.

Call a local pump professional to help you out.
__________________
Driller1 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-18-2012, 03:05 AM   #10
chaseme5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 34
Default

We called our local pump company and found out they retired. Sold business. All their numbers have been disconnected.



__________________

Last edited by chaseme5; 03-18-2012 at 03:12 AM.
chaseme5 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will Increasing Pressure Tank Size, Increase Pressure? TxBuilder Pumps and Wells 8 07-13-2012 05:18 AM
More pressure please? ddaavviidd Pumps and Wells 17 10-13-2011 12:47 PM
Increase water pressure in my shower nanduwanted General Plumbing Help 6 06-30-2011 05:06 AM
No Pressure Leaksealer Pumps and Wells 7 03-11-2011 04:45 PM
Home Project: Swapping Sink tops BRad704 Project Display 3 06-10-2010 01:09 PM