Quantcast

Well pump pressure switch replacement

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

dspahn

Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2016
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Location
,
I am preparing to replace my well pump pressure switch- the one that runs the pump when the water pressure gets below a threshold. The articles I have read say to shut off the power supply to the pump then to shut off the valve from the pressure tank to the house and drain the pressure tank. I have a shutoff between the pump and the tank. So the sequence is well > pump > pressure switch > tee to pressure gauge and to valve > pressure tank > softener > house supply. Since I am replacing the gauge and switch on the pump do I need to drain the tank? Can’t I just remove the power from the pump and pressure switch and close the valve then loosen the old gauge and wait for the pressure to dissipate? In this case water spillage is not a problem. Thanks!
 

Jeff Handy

Pro Handyman, NOT A Pro Plumber
Joined
Jul 5, 2019
Messages
2,269
Reaction score
454
Location
Chicago suburbs
You should drain the tank anyway.

They accumulate sediment and minerals.

Open every valve, let the house plumbing drain.
That will flush crud from the pipes, and will restore the trapped air chambers that help to cushion against water hammer.

When you are done, and pressure is restored, flush your pipes and clean the aerators.

You might need to clean the inlet filter at the softener also.
 

Valveman

Pump Controls Tech
Professional
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
654
Reaction score
128
Location
,Lubbock, Texas
Like Jeff says, open some faucets and drain the tank. You can do it without draining the tank if you want to take a shower at the same time. :)
 

RS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2019
Messages
68
Reaction score
13
Location
USA
Are you sure you have a valve between the pump and tank? That's pretty rare, and can be a dangerous situation if you were to start the pump with that valve shut. Ours is like that, but the handle is removed from that valve to prevent someone from doing that. It's because we have a high pressure artesian well, 10 psi without a pump running, so the only way to take anything apart is to isolate the well. As others have said, bleed off all the pressure before you take anything apart!
 

Valveman

Pump Controls Tech
Professional
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
654
Reaction score
128
Location
,Lubbock, Texas
I don't like a ball valve anywhere between the pump and the pressure switch. But with Artesian flow that is about the only way to be able to work on the equipment. Like you said it is best to take the handle off so no one closes that valve inadvertently.
 

FishScreener

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2018
Messages
379
Reaction score
110
Location
83467
If your pressure tank has a bladder, be sure to check that the bladder is still good, and that the precharge is set to 2-psi less than the cut-in pressure of the new switch.
 
Top