Water Softeners- Salt-Free

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KULTULZ

Jack of All Trades ~ Master of None
Professional
Reaction score
I am studying water softener systems as I do not want my drinking water coming from a salt brine solution. There has to be another method.

Any comment on the following system- Pelican NaturSoft Salt Free Water Softener - PelicanWater.com

I found these two questions interesting in their FAQ-

Concerning Municipal Water-

Isn't city water good enough without a Pelican Whole House Water System?

Most municipal water systems use chlorine or chloramines to treat water which are chemicals designed to kill living organisms. While they do an excellent job treating your water, they create dry skin and hair, unpleasant taste and odors that many people do not like. Pelican Water Systems filter out the unpleasant tastes and smells to provide clean filtered water, rich in mineral nutrients, from every faucet, shower, and toilet in your home.

Concerning Magnetic Water Softeners-

MAGNETIC WATER SOFTENER / MAGNETIC WATER CONDITIONER (USES MAGNETS)

About Magnetic Water Softeners

The majority of these devices claim to work by causing the carbonate salts that would ordinarily form adherent scale deposits to precipitate as small particles within the water instead. This would also presumably reduce the concentration of the calcium and magnesium ions that react with soaps to form insoluble scum.

Advantages

Magnetic water softening claims to reduce the scale build up and the affects of hard water. The magnetic devises are very inexpensive compared to other methods of softening water.

Disadvantages