Water pressure high then drops

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hayley3

Reaction score
I had a new water meter base installed so I could run a water line from it to an outside barn faucet.
First thing in the morning I fill water buckets and the spray is strong and powerful and I can even fill a kiddy pool for my ducks but after I turn it off and turn it back on to use again the stream is so small I can't even spray off bird poo on my car.
Does anyone have an idea of what the problem could be?

Thanks,
Cheryl

Howdy. Noob here, so take this with a grain of salt!

I'm assuming you're saying you shut of and immediately restart and have no pressure. If not please advise. Moving on, any chance you have a pressure booster installed? If so, might it may have a off/on cycle limiter? Does pressure return after a set period that is consistent?

For that matter, does this pressure drop only present at the outside barn faucet? Rest of house is OK?

Is there a water pressure regulator anywhere that might be going wonkey?

Not much help, but who knows. Luck to you!

It's possible that when that part of the meter was installed something got stirred up in the main possibly clogging your meter before I get to far is this happening everywhere ??????

Last edited:
It's possible that when that part of the meter was installed something got stirred up in the main possibly clogging your meter before I get to far is this happening everywhere ??????
There's only one thing hooked to that water line and that's the hydrant.

I hooked up the hydrant by itself so I'd get great water pressure, to wash the car, fill up duck pools, pressure wash the house because the other hose didn't reach.
The hose on the side of the house did fine filling up the duck pool before we added the secondary water meter base even with a 100ft hose.