Water hammer trouble

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Komodo

Reaction score
Thank you for making this forum available for non plumbers as well as professionals. As you probably guess, I'm not a professional plumber and need some advice. On the third floor of my duplex, I have what I think is called a Water Hammer. The symptom is that each time I open and close the hot water tap I hear a loud bang. It's only on the hot water tap in the bathroom sink. I tried to drain the water from the system but the banging came back in a few days. After doing some research on the net, I think I need to install a Water Hammer Arrester. I was hopping that someone with experience can help me determine if this is the proper next step and if so where do I put the Water Hammer Arrester. I included a crude map of my setup. I hope its OK.

Water Hammer .jpg

A hammer arrestor would most likely solve your problem. To avoid having to cut out walls, you could install the arrestor on the supply piping underneath the bathroom sink.

Although many think a water hammer arrestor is the fix-all for water hammer, it is not. The very few that I have installed in most cases did not solve the problem. You say it only happens when you use a particular faucet.
Sometimes it is just the old washer in the angle stop supply to the faucet. Try replacing the angle stops if they are the old style screw in type and not the 1/4 turn type. Is this hammer a new problem or has it always done that.
single handle faucet can also have loose or worn washers.

Back in the day One would make a air chamber from a pipe one size larger and install on the ends ofthe branch run.. these would eventually become water logged and fail to work, hence they are now not allowed by code.