Toilet flange floating in mid air please help

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Johnq

Reaction score
I bought a ‘renovated’ house that was never quite finished. And all of the renovations were done by obviously less-than-skilled labourers (I work in construction but mainly hvac).
anyways, here I am 3 years later and one of our toilets has started shifting and wobbling. It moved to the point where you can see a void underneath. you can see where whatever caulking they used finally went bad. So I crawled under my house to see what was going on. Apparently, when the remodeled that bathroom, they cut a 5 or 6 inch hole through the sub flooring and then hammered out a same sized ‘hole’ in the tile, ran the 3 inch drain pipe up, stuck the flange on the pipe, then stuck the toilet on the flange. So the flange is just floating in thin air on the pipe and the toilet is just sitting on the tile. Is there a way to get something in there that I can bolt to without taking up the tile and replacing part of the subfloor? Thank you all

You need to pull the toilet and post pictures of the floor and flange.
Then post several pics of the framing below it.

Normally a toilet flange on pvc would need to be screwed into the subfloor for stability.

You could maybe use something like this.
Steel, Flange Support for 3, 4 or 3 x 4 Plastic Wood Floor Closet

I am now in WV. Loving it and living on the river.

I am now in WV. Loving it and living on the river.
Nice. I’m from purcellville, lived in shepherdstown for 3 or so years, Morgantown for 2 years, I’m in NC now in the swamp ha ha

Should you need to cut holes in tile, diamond hole saws are the go to tool. Not too expensive. Make a puttty or caulk dam around the area to hold water to keep the tool cool.