Thermostat Controlled Shower Valve

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

63splitray

Reaction score
My Delta DT17097PN, BRPN MC 17 Serv Valve Trim Valve is set to max hot (H against the stop block), but when the temps in AZ get down to 40's it still barely delivers hot water at all. The supply for this mixer comes straight from the separate tub thru only about eight feet 8' of PEX. The tub water gets very hot instantly. Two years ago I did a complete master bath remodel (to the studs) and did not reroute any plumbing, I simply used the existing tee off the tub to run to the new Delta fixtures/components and added a spray wand. (it was always too cool long before I rebuilt everything)

To be fair the water in AZ does go up and down quite a bit with the outside temperature extremes. But the shower is pretty much unusable at these temps. I just don't understand why I cannot get even 70 degree water through the 3-way vale to the shower head when its 120 degrees only 8' away? The mixer adjustment does work because when I installed it originally it was too cool so I set it 3 notches to the hot side and it was better (maybe the time of year). But when winter came it was too cool again so I adjusted the control the remaining 3 notches to the stop block. It was better but it has never gotten warm enough in winter.

Kind of at a loss as to where to go next?